Collective Action Award

Celebrating inspiring and outstanding anti-corruption Collective Action initiatives

With the Collective Action Award, the Basel Institute on Governance acknowledges initiatives that showcase outstanding results, best practices and innovation in the field of Collective Action to tackle corruption and raise standards of business integrity.

The Anti-Corruption Collective Action Award aims to:

  • Celebrate inspiring examples in Collective Action and create an opportunity for identification with the Collective Action community of practice.
  • Encourage organisations and companies to engage in Collective Action to advance business integrity.
  • Raise awareness on Collective Action approaches and generate prestige of Collective Action among peers as well as the general public.

Eligible nominations will be transmitted to a jury comprised of experts in the field. From the selected finalists, each jury member will choose a winner. In addition to the jury's decision, the public will also have the opportunity to vote for their preferred initiative from among the three finalists.

The award is non-monetary in nature and can only be awarded to organisations, not individuals.

Upcoming Award

The Basel Institute and its regional partners will host the Southern Africa Anti-Corruption Collective Action Forum in May 2023. On this occasion, the Basel Institute will award regional initiatives that have demonstrated outstanding achievements in tackling corruption and raising standards of business integrity.

The call for nominations is now open.

Download nomination form

Only Collective Action initiatives based in SADC countries are eligible. Those include: Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, United Republic Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

For more information on the eligibility criteria, the selection process, and the public vote, you can access our Award Methodology.

Connect with us on LinkedIn and Twitter to stay tuned and follow the latest news on the award.

Jury Members

Soji Apampa

Soji Apampa co-founded and is currently the CEO of the Convention on Business Integrity. Soji has served as a Senior Advisor to the UN Global Compact on the 10th Principle (anti-corruption) and as a consultant to the Inter-Agency Task Team of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. In his role as a consultant, Mr. Apampa has carried out numerous assignments for international organisations, including the World Bank, UK-Aid, UNDP, UN Global Compact, Heinrich Boell Foundation and many others. He was a member, till the end of 2022, of the WEF Global Future Council on Transparency and Anti-Corruption. Mr. Apampa graduated with a B.Eng. (Hons) in Civil & Structural Engineering from the University of Sheffield in 1987 and holds an MSc. in Governance & Finance from Liverpool John Moores University (2008).

Gretta Fenner

Gretta Fenner is the Managing Director of the Basel Institute on Governance and Director of its International Centre for Asset Recovery. Before joining the Basel Institute, Gretta worked at the OECD in Paris as the organisation’s manager for anti-corruption programmes in the Asia-Pacific region, where she played a key role in establishing the ADB/OECD Anti-Corruption Initiative for Asia-Pacific. Gretta has advised a wide range of governments, donors, international organisations and multinational corporations on governance and anti-corruption topics, as well as organisational change, development processes and policy design.

Deon Rossouw

Prof. Deon Rossouw is the CEO of The Ethics Institute and an Extraordinary Professor in Philosophy at the University of Stellenbosch. Deon is an internationally recognised expert in Business Ethics and the Ethics of Corporate Governance and published several books and academic articles in leading international journals. He was the Founding President of the Business Ethics Network of Africa (BEN-Africa) and served as President of the International Society of Business, Economics and Ethics (ISBEE). Deon is a member of the King Committee for Corporate Governance in South Africa. He has been recognised as a Chartered Director by the Institute of Directors of South Africa (IoDSA). He chairs the Social and Ethics Committee Forum of the IoDSA.

Khadija Sharife

Khadija Sharife (LLM) is an investigative journalist and senior editor for Africa at Organized Crime and Corruption Reporting Project (OCCRP). Khadija has contributed to investigations about illegal logging in Madagascar, grand corruption in Angola, and commodity traders fueling arms trafficking in Cote d’Ivoire. She is also the former director of Platform for the Protection of Whistleblowers and is a board member of Finance Uncovered. Khadija previously led an African chapter of the EU’s Environmental Justice Liability and Trade project, overseeing research, policy, and investigation into ecological trade and corruption fueling conflict. She also contributed to the book “Tax Us If You Can: Why Africa Should Stand Up for Tax Justice” and is a 2021 Yale Poynter Fellow in Journalism.

Past Awards

Anti-Corruption Collective Action Awards 2022

Celebrating inspiring and outstanding anti-corruption Collective Action initiatives